A little infuriated


First, I will say that this podcast caught my full attention to something that I normally overlook whenever I read or hear news about it. I mean really, with everything else that is going on in the news, how often do you pay attention to labor working conditions in China? For me anyway, it was not too often. However, this podcast captivated me in a way that this subject has never done so before. While I found Mike Daisy to be somewhat humorous at times (which was a great way to make light of the subject matter), I found his talk to be very powerful, serious, and somewhat infuriating. My infuriation isn’t so much with Mr. Daisy himself, but with he is saying in the sense that it is all true. Most of us who have heard a little about this situation before may have known it to be true, but not were not given the cold, hard blunt truth about what really goes on in these factories, and most of us would prefer not to know – out of sight, out of mind. But what Daisy told us made me realize that it is true and it is worse than how horrible I already thought it was in the back of my mind. And that is my infuriation.

 

As far as relationships with products, it is hard to say that this situation in China is really going to affect the way people buy products, and I highly doubt that it would make them think twice about their purchases. It is sad, but it is realistic. Why is it realistic? Because China is not the USA, so therefore American consumers are not going to think past the fact that their purchase is being made here, regardless of where the product itself was actually made. American consumers are needy and have a lot of wants, and the average American is not going to stop and think about where their product is being made when they are in a hurry at the store and to do many more things throughout their day. It’s just the way the American lifestyle is, and as disappointing and frustrating as it may seem, I really do not believe that consumers will want to detach themselves from their favorite products that are made in questionable working conditions, such as those in China.

 

After listening to the entire podcast, I’d really like to know why Apple keeps the name of the suppliers confidential. If Apple is going to state that they are against this “sweatshop” mentality, then they need to follow through and truly disclose all information about those suppliers who do participate in such actions so that consumers who are concerned and want to make a contentious decision may be able to do so.  If Apple doesn’t disclose this information, then it really makes me wonder if Apple’s business practices are truly ethical.

3 responses to “A little infuriated

  1. I understand how the facts behind this podcast can make you mad but I believe it needs to be taken with a grain of salt. This is one guy’s findings and he hasn’t shown any physical evidence (at least not evident in his performance). But I think you’re right in saying that this situation in China won’t really affect people in buying Apple’s products. Everyone wants the coolest gadgets and Apple makes most of them.

  2. I do agree with you that it needs to be taken with a grain of salt since this is just one guy’s findings, however his findings still just do not settle with me in the right way and I can’t help but be a little infuriated with the situation. And I just think I’m still feeling this way because this is the first time that I’ve really tried to understand what is going on in this situation in China. But regardless I do understand where you’re coming from.

  3. I completely agree with your questioning on Apple and their need to fully disclose all information regarding their suppliers. I question in my own post whether they plan to actually make reform in their factories or let these issues continue to go unchanged. All in all, I feel as though Apple has made small steps towards improving these conditions. They will most likely be swept under the rug unless more people like Mr. Daisey take action in publicizing these inhuman working environments. In the past I considered Apple a reputable company, but now, similar to your concerns, I question if their business practices are ethical.

Leave a Reply

