White Lies?


After listening to this podcast, I am even more conflicted than I was after listening to the first one.  Throughout the podcast I felt awkward as Mr. Daisy struggled to find the words to answer Ira’s questions.  At first, I felt betrayed by Mr. Daisey for providing his listeners with false information and making Apple look like the bad guy.  It was not fair of him to give The American Life a fabricated story when they asked him point blank if all of the facts were true.  Although it was completely wrong of him to lie and fabricate the story, he still accomplished his goal: “to make people care”.

During Mr. Daisey’s first podcast, I did not find myself hanging on to every specific detail of his story but rather when it ended I immediately went on the internet to look for the pictures of inside the factory that he referred to in the podcast.  I was curious to find out more information about the company that I am so brand loyal to.  Mr. Daisey raised important issues throughout the monologue and made his listeners at the very least aware of how terrible working conditions are in these factories.  Although Mr. Daisey went about the situation in completely the wrong way, I do think that This American Life was a little harsh on him during the interview.  They should have done some more investigate work themselves before the podcast aired and killed the story when they could not find Mr. Daisey’s translator.

Listening to this podcast has made my question if Mr. Daisey’s exaggerations are acceptable in this case because he successfully challenges his audience to look further into the conditions at Foxconn’s factories.  He got the public reaction that the story deserved and the story does have many factual parts to it.  Apple has had a problem which child labor laws in the past and many workers are working more than 60 hours per week.  The working conditions are usually crowded and uncomfortable.  There are definitely places where Apple needs to make some improvements.  While I believe that Mr. Daisey should have directly apologized for lying and approached the situation much differently, I think he had the right intentions while writing the story and really wanted to make people realize how horrible the conditions are in these factories so that changes can be made.

3 responses to “White Lies?

  1. I appreciated seeing a post from this point of view and I agree with you that Mike Daisey’s intention to write a story that would make people care was admirable. I wish he could have done a story that was based on the issues in China’s workforce but that was completely true and that didn’t use Apple as an identifiable bad guy. With all the controversy, it is too confusing for me to tell what problems are true issues and what was just a good story. I can’t imagine that the truth wouldn’t have been a riveting enough story.

  2. I really liked your point about Mike Daisey “making people care.” I hadn’t really looked at the story through that lens and I agree that he accomplished that goal. While we all feel ripped off and aggravated by Daisey’s lies, he definitely made us all care. Not everything he said was true, but he definitely drew attention to a problem we all know exists but often choose to ignore.

  3. I am going to also agree with your previous statement, to a point. I definitely see where you are coming from when you say that the Mr. Daisey’s fabrications got the attention this issue deserved, however, I still do not think that it is right to have made these factories seem as bas as they really are. I think that Mr. Daisey should still be punished for the lies he created. I feel that if these fabrications were not discovered as they were, then apple/foxconn could have suffered great losses financially (more so than they did). I understand that there are a great deal of workers not being treated properly, but the sad reality is that if these people want to complain about their working conditions, there is a line of people outside waiting to take their places.

Leave a Reply

