And when the pr…


And when the press would ask Steve Jobs, “Steve, what’s up with Foxconn? What’s it like?” and Steve Jobs would say, “Gosh, it’s a factory, but it’s not like any factory we’ve ever seen. It has swimming pools and movie theaters—it’s amazing.”

I would keep my head down. And I would tell my story.

And when Apple would call journalists who had spoken to me, and tell them, “Youknow, I don’t know if you want to be associated with him. He’s kind of unstable. You know, he does work in the theater.”

I would keep my head down. And I would tell my story.

And tonight—we know the truth.

(An avid Apple fan to Mr. Daisey….)

As a matter of fact Mr. Daisey, you claimed in your interview with This American Life that you were just an actor and that this whole trip to China was just to help you write a good story.  Why are you leading your listeners to believe that what they are about to hear has any ounce of truth to it, when in reality it is full of lies and exaggerations? This American Life broadcasts on more than 500 stations to about 1.8 million listeners.  Did you realize that by broadcasting this podcast you would essentially be lying to 1.8 million people?

Clearly you were not thinking about all the people you would be affecting when you were writing this story.  Making up lies about a successful company with the goal of improving your own career was completely audacious.  Writing a fake story to get attention will get you nowhere in life.  As an avid Apple user, I find it completely inappropriate for you to mock Steve Jobs, the most powerful businessman in the world, and discredit the factory system he has in place that makes his company the most valuable company in the world.  Although you believe you accomplished your goal by making people care, they will now be more suspicious of journalists in the future and be less likely to care the next time a journalist preaches to them about a societal issue.

7 responses to “And when the pr…

  1. I wanted to write my post about being an Apple fan, but I couldn’t figure out how to explain my thoughts. I think you did a great job with this voice. What I thought was so ironic about Daisey’s monologue was how he goes into such great detail about his love of Apple. He takes his Macbook apart, all 43 pieces, and cleans them and puts them back together to soothe his weary nerves. I would be on edge too if I lied to almost two million people. I also agree that people will probably be more cautious of journalists, but in the long run that could turn out to be a good thing. I feel that too many people these days take what they hear on blind faith, which leads to fiascos like this.

  2. The fact that Mr. Daisey mentions his frequent use of multiple different apple products is something that I thought about, but haven’t seen it in any of these blogs yet. By no means would I then approve of this story, but it’s one thing if Mr. Daisey wrote this fabricated story about Apple and was totally against supporting their business, but it’s completely different if Mr. Daisey makes all these lies and then spends all day on his iPad. I just don’t get his motives here.

  3. I find your post as an Apple fan very interesting. It reveals much about Apple as a company because it is more than a company. Apple has such a large fan base in addition to the large number of users it has. There is a loyalty factor associated with Apple and its fans. It seems as though Apple users tend to have more than one Apple product. They are proud of that product and believe that any Apple product is the best. Anyone who says anything bad about Apple is offensive and it is taken personally. Mr. Daisey is offensive to Apple on a wide scale. I think your post accurately details this “phenomenon.”

  4. I, too, thought about writing from the perspective of an Apple fan but also couldn’t find the words. Many of the Apple fans feel loyal to the brands, as we read in our case study, and identify with the brand. Fans will always be loyal to Apple products and Steve Jobs and monologues like this incite the fans of such a dominant brand. I think this perspective is really great. Good job.

  5. I really like where you inserted this interruption. It is a great place to stop the script and inform the audience before they start to feel too foolish for being duped by Mike Daisey like we were. Also your use of statistics about The American Life really served to back up your argument about how Daisey might not have considered just how many people he was lying to on The American Life.

  6. I liked your decision in a being an “avid apple user.” This type of person definitely would be interested in what Mike Daisy has to say. And finding out that what he said were lies, would make an avid apple user mad. I like how you got right to the point on calling Mike Daisy out especially reminding him that he’s the reason some people will be suspicious about journalism from now on. He deserves to hear this from someone who cares about Apple.

  7. This is a viewpoint I did not think about at all. An avid Apple fan writing to Mr. Daisey is an amazing point of view. I would love to hear someone who is so “in love” with Apple products and their “culture” that they just get into it with Mr. Daisey. I would love to hear how the person would react and if it would be an “upset”, careless, furious, etc reaction. I feel that some people who are so sold on Apple products actually wont care about whether or not Mr. Daisey’s story is true or false. I feel that an avid Apple fan interjecting into Mr. Daisey’s story and just going on about how great the product is would be very interesting as well.

Leave a Reply

