Apple is My Living


Apple is my Living
I have been working for Foxconn for almost 3 years now.  My job has been assembling the hard backs of the iPad and carving out the Apple symbol.  Yes I have two children that live 2 hours away so I can only see them about once a week.  Yes I live in the dorms and with other Foxconn women.  But this is the life I picked.  I make money and send it back to my kids.  It is not enough money in American standards, but it is the reason we are alive today.  I could go back home and work on the farm, but no, I want this life.  I am fortunate to get this job above everyone else, and the pay is getting batter. 

I can’t afford to buy the pro

ducts I help make, but what would i use an iPad for anyway?  I don’t see the finished product; it is not my job to see the finished product.  I do my part and send it off to the next person.  I believe it takes more than 300 hands to make one iPad; there are many parts to it.  It takes at least five days to make one iPad.  There is no way only one person it sitting down to assemble an iPad by themselves.  I want to tell Americans and the rest of the world to keep buying Apple products and use it with care because it took a lot of people and time to make the products.  Apple is my living.  Some may say that i don’t have a choice, but this is not a bad choice; after all I feed my 2 children.  It is good that American’s care about how my work is, but my government should care more.

Inside Look
“Foxconn worker sees iPad”

Inside the iFactory
Foxconn: An Exclusive inside look
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jk-xqPKOxl4&feature=player_embedded
“Do Americans really care?”
For my first paper, I am thinking about how much we value our technology and if we as Americans really care if factory workers are treated unfairly.  I would also like to see if Apple’s profit and the demand of Apple products have dropped after this “scandal”.

4 responses to “Apple is My Living

  1. The way in which you used a factory worker to interrupt Mike Daisey was creative. I myself wondered if Foxconn employees were angered with their working conditions or if they were content, as you describe in your post. You present a good case; that although employees are mistreated in Daisey’s story, in actuality they could be appreciative for the opportunity. Working for Foxconn, they are able to support their families and they have a livelihood. I wonder if Daisey considered these points before he made his accusations.

  2. I like that you used a factory worker for your interruption. Mr. Daisey tries to get some workers in there–he tries to make us feel sorry for them. But your inclusion of a possible real worker’s opinion automatically makes Daisey’s story seem biased. I think that people would respond well to an interruption in which a factory worker doesn’t feel cheated by working at Foxconn.

  3. I especially liked the last line of your addition to the script. When we read the comments the Chinese posted to the New York Times article, a better part of them put the most blame on the government. You were able to capture the voice of the silent majority, and that is a very important task.

  4. I was wondering where in the play you like this interruption to take place? I think maybe it would be good to place it after Mike’s anecdote about the injured worker who had never seen the iPad, so that your point would really get across. Also, it is good to raise the issue that the worker probably wouldn’t care that they don’t own an iPad. I is a high cost luxury item that, like you said, they would have little to no use for. We wouldn’t think the workers on the Ferrari assembly line are being exploited because they can’t drive one home from work! I like your perspective and the details you use, this interruption would add value to the live presentation.

Leave a Reply

