Getting it off her Chest


17:21 into the podcast, Rob Schmitz is sitting with Mike Daisy in his apartment in Shanghai and begins to interrogate him about the lies he has made. I want to add Cathy to this scene and give her time to get everything off her chest before Rob gets going.

“I don’t really know what to say. I don’t hear from you in a year, and then I hear from Rob a completely fabricated version of our time spent in China? You lied about worker’s age, guards carrying fire arms, the number of factories you visited, seeing someone injured by hexane gas, and many other things. What do you have to say about all of this? Are you happy you have misled your audience?”-Cathy

“I want to apologize for putting you in the situation I did, but I do not regret my actions. Yes, a lot of what I said was fabricated, but I think I got my point across to my audience.”- Mike Daisey

“You got your point across to your audience? The way you described these factories made them seem like a concentration camp. The conditions aren’t as nice as they would be if Foxcomm was located in the States, but your description was way over the top. Do you not agree?”-Cathy

“Certain aspects of my story were fabricated, I will say that. But I needed to get my point across. I want people to know about the extent of the difference in working conditions between China and the States. It is a horrible secret kept from most Americans. Many Americans’ lives are ran by Apple, and they should have some sort of an idea about what goes into these products.”- Mike Daisey

“I do agree that Americans should be more aware of what happens in factories in China, but they shouldn’t be told it is worse than its reality. I’m going to let Rob take over now, but I just wanted to get this off my chest.”- Cathy

 

“Again, I wanted to apologize for the situation I put you in”- Mr. Daisey

Leave a Reply

