Political “Title”


I consider myself reasonably informed about politics. I am not particularly motivated to read up on the presidential campaigns or the presented policies but I can hold an intellectual conversation regarding the two candidates. With that being said, I decided I would take the Political Typology test on the PewResearchCenter website to determine my political “title”. I thought it would be interesting to see if my current views were consistent with my match – and I wanted to know once and for all the name of my political category! After answering a slew of questions regarding my personal beliefs, I was categorized as a “Post-Modernist”. Post Modernism sat in the middle of the typology group profiles, however the group was placed within the “blue” or liberal zone. They summarized Post Modernism as:

  • Generally supportive of government, though more conservative the safety net
  • Strongly supportive of regulation and environmental protection
  • Most (56%) say Wall Street helps the economy more than it hurts
  • Very liberal on social issues, including same-sex marriage
  • One of the least religious groups: nearly a third are unaffiliated with any religious tradition
  • Favor the use of diplomacy rather than force
  • The youngest of the typology groups: 32% under age 30

A few of these bullets are more indicative of my personal views then others, however overall I was satisfied with their generalizations. When I have discussed my political views with friends in the past, I have always said I was socially very liberal but took a more conservative approach on government and business. It was interesting to see how my results reinforced my personal beliefs. In the past when I have taken these tests, my results are skewed and I end up in a group I have no similarities with. The test also allowed me to evaluate various other facets of politics that I have overlooked such as military force/spending and my stance on environmental protection. After taking the online test, I felt more confident in my political views. I decided after taking this test, I should take the quiz that compares you to all 8 candidates for president – now that I know my political group, I should see which candidate I would hypothetically vote for. I was not surprised when I got neither Obama or Romney as my candidate of choice. My beliefs matched closest with Hillary Clinton! As a strong supporter of women rights and equality, I think she would be a great president!

Post Modernism is not right, not left, but forward thinking!

3 responses to “Political “Title”

  1. I think your results are very similar to a lot of the younger population today. From what I have read and learned about in my American Politics class, the younger generation is the least likely to relate to one of the two main political parties and we are the most open to new ideas and new political parties. Additionally, I think our generation as a whole is much more liberal when it comes to social issues. For instance, gay marriage and abortion are much more accepted among younger generations, as we tend to be more liberal in these views. I also took the test and found myself with similar results in terms of being more economically conservative, but more socially liberal. I think this is telling of our generation and may be one of the reasons our voting turnout is so much lower. Since many young people do not neatly identify with one political party, it creates less of a connection and motivation to vote for a presidential candidate.

  2. Neat graphic. Where did you get it? You should always credit sources..

    I don’t know why the one has Hilary… she isn’t running now…

Leave a Reply

