Politically Apolitical


Image

I am not one to get involved in political issues but the current presidential race has definitely caught my attention. My family is also apolitical, which likely explains my tendency to steer clear of political discussions. My dad isn’t a citizen of the US and therefore cannot vote and my mom, a converted US citizen, doesn’t know left from right. I probably developed most of my political beliefs from the news, going to boarding school, and being a college student.

According to the Pew Research Center quiz, I am a “Post-Modern,” which sounds more like a period of art history than a political ideology. It falls under the lightest shade of blue, which surprised me. When I’m feeling like an informed citizen, I tend to lean more right than left. I initially claimed myself as being “fiscally conservative and socially liberal,” until I learned that 99% of college students also identify the same way. I then began to believe that fiscal issues were more important and easier to change than social ones and therefore leaned more on the Republican side of the fence.

However, clearly my quiz score labels me otherwise. In the description of a “Post-modernist,” I have strong views on environmental protection and diplomacy, although I really don’t consider myself an extremist on any of these issues. I most definitely identified with several other characteristics, such as believing that Wall Street helps the economy, being liberal on social issues, not very religious, under 30, a non-Hispanic white, being from the West, and living in the suburbs.

For the first time this November, I will be voting in the election. I will be voting for Mitt Romney but not because I’m a snobby conservative or because I am supportive of some of his social beliefs. Rather, I am voting for Romney because I believe that he is the best candidate to save the economy. Romney bothers me in many ways (in particular, the way he responded to a question in the February Republican debates about the way he attacks other candidates by saying that that’s his first reaction to defend himself–that’s probably not the best strategy in times of panic…) but I’m not convinced enough by Obama OR Biden. Also, my Dad supports Romney more than Obama, and part of my vote is for him (since he can’t vote).

I am very fortunate that Bucknell isn’t a super political campus. I don’t think I could handle it if it was. That was a little scary for me to write out who I was voting for for the world to see but I think I’ll be alright…
Maybe I’ll take my new-found political label to the streets. I would love to have a label so I wouldn’t have to stop worrying about what party I identify with, but is it actually accurate? I think only time will tell.

3 responses to “Politically Apolitical

    • He isn’t a citizen of the US, which I mentioned in the first paragraph. He has a green card, instead.

  1. I completely agree with you in the fact that I would not be a happy camper if Bucknell was a political campus. I can’t stand the way people argue about politics since it most always ends in screaming.

    I also agree with the fact that I think that Mitt Romney has the best solutions to save the economy. Unlike you though I have yet to weigh out which I find more important…the fiscal side or the social side. I do not agree with many of Romney’s social views and some of them actually scare me. At the same time though I believe Obama’s plan for the economy is going to put us in the hole even more.

    So where should my vote go? Should I take the chance at voting for someone that might be able to fix our economy but will make us go backwards socially? Or should I take the chance at voting for someone that has been making social strides that no president has done before with the chance of putting the United States deeper into this ongoing recession?

Leave a Reply

