What are you anyways?


           I would not consider myself to be a major follower of politics or say that I am a staunch democrat, republican or independent. I was excited and fortunate enough to be able to vote in the 2008 election. I vote for Barack Obama because I thought he represented my beliefs of equality and peace better than John McCain did. I grew up with a single Democratic father. I think this had a major impact on my voting decision as well as the ethics and morals that I practice.

            Despite the fact that I voted for Obama, I am still uncertain as to which party I support and if there is in fact one party that I align with. Fortunately, there are several online quizzes that take my beliefs and help me see which party I identify with. People Press offers a quiz consisting of a number of questions to challenge my beliefs to gain an accurate identification of my political backgrounds.

            After completing the “quiz,” I was identified as a Solid Liberal. I was a bit hesitant, am I really “solid” or that one-sided? I had never thought so, although I always considered myself to be liberal and in favor of more rights to the minorities. I examined the summary of Solid Liberals and agreed with most of the defining traits. However, when I was completing the quiz I found myself wondering do I really truly think that, or do the morals I grew up with agree with the statement. I cannot be sure because I can’t determine where my influenced beliefs end andmy personal beliefs begin.Image

            Unsatisfied, I once again reviewed the results. I was able to observe that I agree with the average solid liberals response to each statement. One statement stood out in particular, “Our country needs to continue making changes to give blacks equal rights with whites.” 77% of solid liberals agreed to this statement, while only 45% of the general public agreed. I am a strong supporter of equal rights, black, white, gay, straight, whatever all people deserve the same rights. Anything else is unacceptable. If achieving equality is an important characteristic of being a solid liberal and most likely – 75% of solid liberals are democrats- aligned with the Democratic Party thanI am a solid liberal and agree completely. 

ImageImage

Aligning my beliefs witha specific group or in this case side encourages me to take a greater interest in politics. However, I will never always vote for the Democratic candidate; but I will vote for the best candidate that is closely aligned with my beliefs. No matter what political party he or she is associated with.

 

2 responses to “What are you anyways?

  1. I think you made a great point here. Voting shouldn’t be about policial parties, race, religion, or gender. What matters is the character of the candidate and their position on various issues. When I hear people say that they only vote Democrat because they hate Republicans, I get rather angry. We have such a divided Congress because of people who vote like that. They do not look at the candidate’s stance on issues and end up voting for a stubborn radical who won’t compromise. I hope that this will change in the future; if more people start voting like you, maybe it will.

  2. I also agree that Americans can get too caught up in figuring out which political party they belong in. They should be more focused on learning about the candidates and figuring out which would be the best for the future of the country. Many Americans just vote for the candidate in their political party even when they are not sure if that person would be the best for the country. I think that voting for the candidate that is most aligned with your beliefs is a great mindset to have when making your decision.

Leave a Reply

