Political Switch-hitter


I don’t care much for American politics.  The constant mud-slinging is a definite turn-off for me and it seems that people vote for charisma more than the issues and substance behind a politician’s words.  Much like the cases we’ve discussed in class, there always seems to be someone who loses when the government makes a decision, so it’s hard for me to pick a side. I never really took an interest in elections but since this is the first time I can vote in the presidential race, I’ve been trying to pay a bit more attention to the issues at hand.

I took the Pew Research quiz and it turns out I’m a “Main Street Republican.  In the spectrum of political parties, this puts me in between Staunch Conservatives and Libertarians.  I tend to consider myself kind-of a Republican kind-of not because I generally don’t have the strong opinions on social issues that most Republican candidates are known for.   For me, neither of the candidates’ views on all the issues completely align with my on so I vote based on the issues that are most important to me. I believe the economy is of first and foremost importance so my vote will be for who I feel has the best plan for strengthening ours.

3 responses to “Political Switch-hitter

  1. Im sorry to read that none of the candidates align directly with your views. Unfortunately, I am the same way and I feel there are many people in the same boat. I am enlightened at your solution to this issue. Choosing a candidate based on the views of the issues that matter to you the most. Brilliant! Why didn’t I think of that? My solution was to refrain from voting altogether. I think this was because I am not educated fully enough on the issues.
    Maybe there is a quiz out there that will help me get an understanding on the issues and which candidate shares my opinions.

    • I like the idea of your quiz, Josh. I am in a similar situation with you, where I’m having trouble deciding who to vote for because there are so many things that should be considered when making the decision. I think a quiz like this would help me prioritize the different reasons that go into making a decision and help aid me to make the correct choice, based on my opinions.

  2. I couldn’t agree more with you about the turnoffs of American politics. I want to see candidates who are passionate about the country and their ideas, not just “mud-slinging” and trying to show why their opponents are bad. I don’t entirely care why one candidate is bad, I want to know why they are good and why they deserve my vote. I find the whole competition premise very disconcerting, because being a good politician isn’t about being argumentative.

Leave a Reply

