Are you a tweeter?


For this week’s post, I decided to write about the success of Twitter’s strategy. Personally, I am not a “tweeter” and I do not have an account. However, I am fascinated with how popular Twitter is and how successful it has become in the social media world. As of 2012, Twitter had 500+ million users, generating over 340 million tweets a day and handling over 1.6 billion search queries per day, and its growth does not seem to be slowing down any time soon. Twitter has become one of the top 10 most visited websites on the internet since its launch. It is often described as the “SMS of the internet” as well.  So what has made Twitter so successful? I’m sure a lot of people have their own opinions about why they love Twitter and why they think Twitter is so successful, but one thing that I think everyone can agree on is that Twitter creates value because it can be used in many clever and innovative ways to serve many different purposes. The following list describes the top 5  ways that have made Twitter so successful.

1. Keeping In Touch- Twitter is great for socializing as you can talk with friends, clients, customers, prospects, the media, and anyone who you might regularly be in touch with. A single tweet can easily let all of your followers know where you are and what you’re up to.

2.Making New Friends- Some people use Twitter as a way to find new friends and contacts that they want to connect with through social media.

3. Connecting With Liked-Minded People- The majority of users are looking to connect with others who have similar interests and discuss the latest news and trends in their circles.

4. Event Planning- Twitter is an easy way to organize an offline gathering of like-minded people and they can continue to promote the event up until its date.

5. Entertainment- There is so many forms of entertainment on Twitter, from celebrities who tweet to bands updating their fans, there is so many outlets for amusement.

Other aspects of Twitter that have contributed to its success are: A way to get a company’s latest information; outlet for marketing and business development; a way to monitor brands and reputations; a way to keep up with the latest news; its simplicity; it is short and sweet; there are low barriers to entry;  easy account creation; low-level of committment; and the fact that it is like blogging, but not.

4 responses to “Are you a tweeter?

  1. While I have a twitter account, I don’t consider myself an active user. I really enjoy the frequent updates on friends, sports teams, pop culture, and news that I get from my twitter account. I believe one of the reasons social media has become so popular is because it makes communicating more convenient. While I don’t use twitter to communicate with my friends, it definitely keeps me more up to date on “world happenings” than I would have without twitter.

  2. I am in the same position as Mara. I have an account but don’t consider myself a user. It might be the fact that I don’t have a smart phone for mobile access to the site/app, but I still check it out from time to time. It’s definitely one those sites that’s good for taking up some down time and checking up on what’s going on. The increase in social media is astounding. Twitter definitely is a great way to keep up to date with what is going on with your friends, to hear about new promotions, or just a way to see what your favorite celebrity is doing on a day to day basis. Twitter is certainly something that I would survive without, but it is just interesting how our immediate gratification culture is developing. It will interesting to see what the next form of social media will be, and if it will be successful.

  3. It is absolutely amazing how Twitter has taken off and the impact it already has in such a short time. I truely think Twitter is becoming increasingly more popular than Facebook. I think Facebook has strayed too far from what it originally was and I think Twitter has still remained basic and user friendly which attracts users.

Leave a Reply

