Panera Bread


Image

Panera Bread is a quickly growing bakery/ cafe. It now operates 1,591 company owned and franchise- operated bakery- cafes in 41 American states. Their freshly bakes bread is their big ticket item to most of its consumers. They offer a variety of artisan breads, signature soups and drinks and much more. To me, Panera Bread is not about the nutritious and well-made foods they offer. In fact, I don’t even like their food. My trips to Panera consist of me getting fresh lemonade, plugging in my computer and just sitting and doing work after a hard basketball workout. Panera’s cafe is such a great environment for meetings, and work space. The Panera close to me actually has a conference room that can be reserved, or used at any time. Some even have life bands that play. Their cafe experience is their big ticket item in my opinion.

Panera Bread continues to expand its business. They are currently expanding their catering division. The most impressive expansion is their involvement in the community. They have programs called “Operation Dough Nation Programs”. These programs consists of “Community Breadbox”, “Day-End Dough-Nation” and SCRIP Fundraising”.  With community breadbox, Panera matches each donation made by customers, then distributes the total to local non-profits.  With day-end dough- nation, Panera donates all unsold bread and baked goods to local area hunger relief agencies and charities.  With SCRIP fundraising, Panera invites non-profits to buy $10 gift cards at a 9% discounted rate, then the non-profits re-sell the gift carts at full price.  Panera is not only a successful company because they are increasingly very profitable, or that they are expanding, but because they do a great job giving back to the community.

3 responses to “Panera Bread

  1. First of all…I had no idea that Panera was going into catering and I couldn’t be more excited. I love Panera and think this was a great company to choose as a success story.

    I completely agree that their atmosphere is wonderful and sometimes I even enjoy it more so than Starbucks (depending on the specific locations). For me though, I actually do enjoy the food quite a bit which is something I can’t experience at Starbucks. At Panera I can go and get a real delicious meal and do work. They’ve got it all going for them in my opinion.

  2. I love Panera and I completely agree with you that they are an example of a successful company. Like Nick, I enjoy their food, so for me it is the atmosphere and the food that creates a great experience at their restauraunt every time I go there at home. I had no idea about their expansion in their catering (which I’m really excited about) or about their involvement in the community. The programs you mentioned that they created seem so beneficial to the communities that they serve. It is great to see a company like Panera taking on such initiatives!

  3. I too love Panera and its environment. It is great to hear about companies giving back to the community like this. I had no idea that Panera gives all unsold bread and baked goods to local hunger relief agencies. Imagine how much food would go to those in need if other companies began to do this too!

Leave a Reply

