PC is Destroying America


Remember the old phrase: “Sticks and stones can break my bones, but words will never hurt me”? Well apparently our leaders into today’s society feel that phrase has become a bit outdated. We are supposed to be a free country where we can do and say as we please (within the law) and yet people are now getting in trouble for referring to a person as something he/she believes is not “politically correct”? Political correctness (in my opinion) is a friggin joke. For example: I have a group of friends that is very diverse. One of my friends is black (you may have noticed I referred to those who many would refer to as “African Americans” as “black”). This is in no way to be offensive, but actually more “politically correct” to be honest. My mother’s side of the family, (and the black friend from earlier in the story) are from the Caribbean, (mother’s family from Barbados and friend’s family from Trinidad). They in no way consider themselves “African” and, believe it or not, are more offended that they are “grouped into a phrase that doesn’t accurately describe them rather than one that does. I remember one day I was at a basketball tournament watching my friend play and someone had asked me which one my friend was. I responded “he is the short black guy with the green shoes” and the lady behind me says (in a rather condescending voice), “you mean African-American?” I then responded “no actually he is from Trinidad, but I’m sure he appreciates you stereotyping the fact that he is black means he is from Africa.” Needless to say, my buddy came up to me after the game and I told him and he was actually happy that I spoke up and said that. So, with all do respect to this political correctness crap, if I am called “white” on particular forms, then I do not see the issue with referring to someone who has darker skin as “black” rather than assuming they are “African”. Why not call me European American, Asian American, Australian American? etc.

 

Also, I found this video, it is pretty funny. Bill O’Reilly takes on Silverman (head of American Athiests). Would love to hear what you guys think on this?

 

Image

6 responses to “PC is Destroying America

  1. I agree with you here on the words black vs. African American. I feel like everyone is always so sensitive using those words and it’s not actually “politically correct” to assume everyone considers themselves “African.” As a side note, as a South African citizen, aren’t I considered an African American?

  2. Amen to that. This is actually something that bothers me as well. I found my self writing “African American” in my blog post with politcal correctness in mind. If I read your blog post before I posted mine I probably wouldn’t have used the term “African American.”

  3. I will never forget my first day of 5th grade. I was starting at a new school and one of the first things our headmaster did was stand up on stage and read a list of “banned words.” As a 5th grader, I was horrified to hear some of these words coming out of an administrator’s mouth! Now, I hear them almost every day. Some were offensive, some were not. I think that their attempt to protect us from hurting other’s feelings with our words was valiant, but they sheltered us too much. Having that type of political correctness instilled in us at such a young age carries on this troubling trend of social censorship.

  4. The correct way to refer to someone who is “black” or “african american” has always been an interesting subject to me. For the most part, I always says “African American” because I have always thought that is the less offensive term. With this said, Chris makes a great argument referring to people that have dark skin that are not of African descent. One of my friends in high school was also from Trinidad, so I was put into a similar situation. I feel as if, despite not being of African descent, I still called him african american do avoid confrontations from others.

  5. I think you have a decent idea here but at the same time you have to realize that a lot of people face extreme obstacles in their every day life due to people who mindlessly use incorrect terms. I think this is less prevalent to the african american community, but the LGBT community in particular I think falls victim to this. For many people who are looked at as strange, ignored, or left out of certain activities due to their sexual orientation, being mislabeled can really have a profound impact. While I agree people should be able to say whatever they want, you have to think. How important is it to us to be able to say potentially harmful things, vs how much is it going to hurt the people we’re talking about.

  6. A conversation with a stranger is rarely or never going to be a good venue to tackle the nuances of race, ethnicity, language and such.

    Your story about being challenged deepens my conviction that this is always a subtle topic.

    I have found myself thinking when describing someone physically by their “race,” like, in a room full of “white” students, oh, he is the “black one.” Is that in teeny way contributing to the over-emphasis on race? I know I aim to not be prejudiced on an individual level. So, if my conscience is clear, why can’t it simply be the most expedient way to describe someone? Well, someone else hears me no matter what my intention is.

    But I would often describe said individual that way.

    I feel I have gotten away from the larger point. I don’t think on an individual basis, anyone should be very judgmental about word choice. At a society or culture level, we need a broader vocabulary to talk about identity as well as more collective goodwill. Dismissiveness just seems counter-productive.

Leave a Reply

