The Agony and The Ecstacy of Steve Jobs: A Look Back


Having spent around 2 months on the Steve Jobs project/production for our BG&S class, I found it only fitting that a reflection in the form of a blog post was necessary.

The process was long, intensive at times, but in the end extremely rewarding. I do believe that the play was perfect for the tech/no series currently underway at Bucknell. All of the controversy surrounding Mike Daisey and this play made it that much better. What exactly is the role of technology in our society and does it have a positive or negative impact on us?

As some of you may or may not know the original plan was to have Mike Daisey come to perform his own creation. After it was decided to go through with this play though, all of the controversy surrounding the factualness of the play broke out. Would Bucknell be able to host Mike Daisey and his play even after all of these allegations had been brought to light? It was not in Bucknell’s best interest to do so, but the show must go on!

This is where the idea of “the play within the play” came from. It made it that much more perfect for the tech/no series. The “intrusions” that Kathleen, Rachel and I had a part in were able to bring to light different view points of Mike Daisey’s story. I believe it was much more thought provoking than the original play itself since the original play gave the audience a false sense of truth.

agony-ecstasy-website-banner2

As far as the writing aspect of it goes, I’m extremely happy that I jumped on board with the project. I have dabbled with theatre before in the sense that I was in a play my senior year, but script writing is a whole new world for me. It really showed me a different side of creative writing. Being a management major I almost feel like there is a limitation with how much “creativity” one can put into their essays. There needs to be more of an emphasis on creative writing in the School of Management in my opinion so that students can really get a feel of different styles of writing. This script writing definitely did that for me.

Hopefully this is not the last time a play production like this is performed at Bucknell. If there is one thing I would change about the entire process though is timing and preparation. I believe there could have been a bit more done with advertising, especially farther in advance. I also believe more practices were in order. The final production was magnificent, but there could have been some fine tuning here and there from more practice time that would have made it that much better.

Overall, I’m more than happy with the the fact that I volunteered. I jumped into something that was slightly outside of my comfort level and it really helped me prepare to do more of the same in the future. If an opportunity like this is ever presented to any of you at some point in the near or distant future, I suggest that you do the same.

Leave a Reply

